Internet Writing Journal(R)

Site Index


Longlist for 2014 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Announced

March 29, 2014

The longlist for the 2014 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction has been announced. The prize was formerly known as the Orange Prize. The list will next be reduced to six and a winner will be announced on June 4, 2014. The winner will receive a check for 30,000 pounds and a limited edition bronze called Bessie. This year's judges include Helen Fraser, Mary Beard, Denise Mina, Caitlin Moran and Sophie Raworth.

Helen Fraser, Chair of Judge, said in a statement, "The judges feel that this is a fantastic selection of books of the highest quality intensely readable, gripping, intelligent and surprising that you would want to press on your friends, and the judges have been doing just that. There was a great deal of talent and exciting writing in the books that were submitted this year and we hope that between now and the announcement of the shortlist on 7th April many readers will want to share the enjoyment we have had with these 20 terrific novels."

Here is the 2014 longlist:
  • Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie - Americanah
  • Margaret Atwood - Maddaddam
  • Suzanne Berne - The Dogs of Littlefield
  • Fatima Bhutto - The Shadow of the Crescent Moon
  • Claire Cameron - The Bear
  • Lea Carpenter - Eleven Days
  • MJ Carter - The Strangler Vine
  • Eleanor Catton - The Luminaries
  • Deborah Kay Davies - Reasons She Goes to the Woods
  • Elizabeth Gilbert - The Signature of All Things
  • Hannah Kent - Burial Rites
  • Rachel Kushner - The Flamethrowers
  • Jhumpa Lahiri - The Lowland
  • Audrey Magee - The Undertaking
  • Eimear McBride - A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing
  • Charlotte Mendelson - Almost English
  • Anna Quindlen - Still Life With Bread Crumbs
  • Elizabeth Strout - The Burgess Boys
  • Donna Tartt - The Goldfinch
  • Evie Wyld - All the Birds, Singing
You can find more information about the prize at:

comments powered by Disqus

Book Promotion
Book Publishing
Children's Books
Writing Advice

Copyright © 1997-2014 by Writers Write, Inc. All Rights Reserved.