Internet Writing Journal(R)



Poetry | Homepage

  • Ohio May Get Its First Poet Laureate (June 9, 2014): Ohio may get its first official Poet Laureate if a proposed bill passes the Ohio House. The Senate has already approved it.

  • Alexander Stinton Wins 2014 Sophie Kerr Prize (May 16, 2014): Alexander Stinton is the winner of the 2014 Sophie Kerr Prize which is awarded by Washington College.

  • University of Sheffield Unveils World's First Air-Cleansing Poem (May 15, 2014): University of Sheffield unveils world's first air-cleansing poem. The poem is printed on a giant poster coated with microscopic pollution-eating particles of titanium oxide.

  • Winner of the 2014 Pegasus Award for Poetry Criticism Announced (May 8, 2014): The University of California Press is the winner of the 2014 Pegasus Award for Poetry Criticism

  • Edgar Allan Poe House Reopens in Baltimore (May 6, 2014): The Edgar Allan Poe House has reopened in Baltimore. It will be open on weekends starting May 24.

  • Claudia Rankine Wins 2014 Jackson Poetry Prize (April 25, 2014): Claudia Rankine is the winner of the 2014 Jackson Poetry Prize. The award carries a $50,000 prize.

  • National Book Award Judges Named for 2014 (April 1, 2014): The National Book foundation has announced the judges for the 2014 National Book Awards. The entry form closes on May 15th for submissions.

  • Frank X Walker Wins NAACP Image Award for Poetry (February 26, 2014): Frank X Walker is the winner of the NAACP Image Award for Poetry. Walker is ccurrently the Kentucky Poet Laureate.

  • Two New Poems By Greek Poet Sappho Discovered on Ancient Papyrus (February 14, 2014): Researchers have recovered two new poems by Greek poet Sappho on a papyrus fragment.

  • Herbie Hancock Named Harvard University's 2014 Norton Professor of Poetry (January 18, 2014): Grammy winning pianist and composer Herbie Hancock has been named Harvard University's 2014 Norton Professor of Poetry.

  • Sinead Morrissey Wins 2013 T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry (January 16, 2014): Sinead Morrissey is the winner of the 2013 T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry. She has been shortlisted for the prize a total of four times.

  • Scottish Poet Douglas Dunn Wins 2013 Queen's Medal for Poetry (January 6, 2014): Scottish poet Douglas Dunn is the winner of the 2013 Queen's Medal for Poetry

  • Philip Levine Wins Wallace Stevens Award (September 25, 2013): Philip Levine has been named the winer of the Wallace Stevens Award. The prize is award by the American Academy of Poets and carries a $100,000 cash prize.

  • Sinead Morrissey is Belfast's First Poet Laureate (August 16, 2013): Sinead Morrissey is Belfast's first Poet Laureate. She will produce a series of poems about Belfast.

  • Bestselling Indian Author Vikram Seth Blows Book Deadline, Asked to Return 1 Million Pound Advance (July 14, 2013): Author and poet Vikram Seth asked to return 1 million pound advance after missing the deadline for the sequel to A Suitable Boy.

  • The Writers Write
    Lifestyle Network
    Bloggers Blog
    Crafters Craft
    Drivers Drive
    Fantasy SF Blog
    Gamers Game
    Health News Blog
    Internet Writing Journal
    Lovers Love
    Media Cynic
    Pleasant Morning Buzz
    Readers Read
    Science, Space & Robots
    Shoppers Shop
    Shopping Blog
    Singers Sing
    Surfers Surf
    Traders Trade
    Video Nacho
    Watchers Watch
    Workers Work
    The Write News
    Writers Write

    Copyright © 1997-2013 by Writers Write, Inc. All Rights Reserved.